Francois Jr Mathy in a great two phases of Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo.

Belgian rider Francois Jr Mathy imposed its experience in the two phases beating Italian Piergiorgio Bucci and Dutchman Jur Vrieling. (Photo © Jorge Peteiro)


Belgian rider Francois Jr Mathy imposed his experience to win the €24,600 Tryp Gijón Rey Pelayo in a 52 pairs class.

The course designed by Spaniard Avelino Rodríguez Miravalles had two phases, where Francois Jr Mathy secured 50 World Ranking Points with his 9-year-old stallion Casanova de l’Herne (Ugano Sitte x Kashmir van Schuttershof) owned by Ingrid Norman, completing its presentation in 30.16 seconds.

With 47-years old for Francois Jr Mathy and being the world number 159, he managed to score good points when surpassed Italian rider Piergiorgio Bucci, who was presented with the 9-year-old gelding Ugano de Coquerie (Indoctro x Papillon Rouge) in 30.95 seconds and occupying third place Jur Briefing of Holland, recorded a time of 31.30 seconds next to the 15-year-old mare Silverstras (Quantum x Corofino).

For the Latino Ranking Colombian rider Dayro Arroyave finished in fourth place with the 9-year-old gelding Uppercut Libellule (Jarnac SF x Papillon Rouge) to add 35 World Ranking Points in time of 31.92 seconds. Completed the Top 5 in fifth place Britain’s Ben Maher accompanied by the 8-year-old stallion Winning Good (Winningmood van de Arenberg x Sir Corland) in 32.24 seconds.

Also stood out for the Latinos within the points Federico Fernandez of Mexico occupying the sixth place, next to the 16-year-old stallion Gitano (Caretano Z x Concorde) in time of 32.58 seconds. He was followed by his fellowmen Ernesto Canseco with the 9-year-old gelding Davall (Zavall VDL x Indorado) in 14th place with 36.58 seconds and José Alfredo Hernández Ortega next to the 11-year-old mare Group Prom Carla Columna (Candillo) in 15th place registering a time of 39.15 seconds, while Patricia Alvarado of Venezuela finished 16th in 40.78 seconds with the 11-year-old mare Souchka du Lys (Calvaro x Carnute).


Final Results