Gert Jan Bruggink with the Mercedes-Benz of the Roelofs Groep Prize.

Home rider Gert Jan Bruggink flew out driving the Mercedes-Benz in contention, beating yesterday’s winner Shane Breen of Ireland. (Photo © Loes Wielheesen)


The second day of C.S.I. Twente Geesteren in Holland, had the house rider winner Gert Jan Bruggink, when it disputed the speed class €29,000 Roelofs Groep Prize.

Getting a time of 60.88 seconds with the 9-year-old gelding Charmeur (Cristallo x Oldenburg) owned by Stal Het Oosterbrook, Gert Jan Bruggink secured 50 World Ranking Points plus a Mercedes-Benz with his victory. Being the difference of only 10 hundredths of a second, yesterday’s winner Shane Breen of Ireland, finished second with the 10-year-old stallion Laith (Lord Z x Weinberg) with a time of 60.99 seconds.

The Top five finishers in the speed class completed them in third place William Funnell of Great Britain in 62.88 seconds time accompanied by the 14-year-old gelding Billy Angelo (Tangelo Van De Zuuthoeve x Kroongraaf), for the fourth place The Briton Laura Renwick in 63.31 seconds with the 9-year-old mare Mhs Washington (Obos Quality x Cavalier Royale) and in fifth was Megan Laseur of Netherlands with the 11-year-old mare Bleu Bayou (Berlin x Ahorn) in 65.53 seconds.

The best representative of the Pan American Ranking was the Pan American gold medalist Christine McCrea in 17th place, stopping the cock in 71.22 seconds with the 12-year-old mare Nektarina B (Nekton x Lancer II).

For the Latino Ranking Adir Abreu Junior of Brazil was the best placed in 21st position registering a time of 73.34 seconds with the 10-year-old gelding Hunter van het Indihof (Bentley Van De Heffinck x Mr. Blue).


Final Results