Hans-Dieter Dreher wins the Grand Prix Longines of Ascona.

Hans-Dieter Dreher of Germany shine in the Grand Prix to liquidate in the jump-off to British rider Michael Whitaker. Yuri Mansur from Brazil fifth. (Photo © longines.com)


German rider Hans-Dieter Dreher had a formidable afternoon winning the € 275,000 Grand Prix of Ascona CSI 5* with a 35-cent advantage of second.

Much emotion for the closing of the CSI 5* Ascona and the great victory of German Hans-Dieter Dreher with the 9-year-old mare Berlinda (Berlin x Gento) owned by Roland Zanotelli, securing a prize of € 90,750 plus 150 World Ranking Points.

As the world number 135 Hans-Dieter Dreher, won his fourth 2017 FEI victory, but it was the most important of the year due to surpass Michael Whitaker of Great Britain and Wilm Vermeir of Belgium in the closed final.

With just such a margin of difference, Michael Whitaker recorded a time of 38.71 seconds with the 10-year old gelding Calisto Blue (Chacco Blue x Con Air) taking second place and Wilm Vermeir in 38.83 seconds with the 9-year-old gelding lq van het Steentje (Toulon x Kannan) in third place.

The Top 5 of the Grand Prix was completed by Wout-Jan van der Schans of the Netherlands in fourth place in time of 39.05 seconds with the 14-year old gelding Capetown (Oklund x Carlino) and the best representative of the Latino Ranking Yuri Mansur of Brazil, was left with the fifth position next to the 13-year-old mare Unita Ask (Corrado I x Caretino) in 39.58 seconds to secure 85 World Ranking Points.

Also participated the Brazilian Marlon Modolo Zanotelli, having in this opportunity a better presentation, to achieve his pass to the tiebreaker and even to mark the best time in 37.41 seconds with the 13-year-old gelding Extran can Essene (Diamant de Semilly x Gotthardsen), but unfortunately they shot down a pole that sent them to the seventh place.

The best seeded of the class was the Italian world number 16 Alberto Zorzi with the 12-year-old gelding Living The Dream (Toulon x Flamenco de Semilly), but ended up exceeding the time of the regular round to be penalized with 1 foul in the 18th place.


Final Results