Luis Pedro Biraben won the $50,000 Kentucky Summer Grand Prix.

Argentine rider Luis Pedro Biraben and Eres Tu won for the first time a Grand Prix at the Kentucky Horse Park. (Photo © Lenore Phillips)


The Argentine rider Luis Pedro Biraben rode a masterful way at Rolex Stadium to deliver his first Grand Prix in Kentucky.

Playing for the $50,000 Kentucky Summer Grand Prix, Luis Pedro Biraben performed with the 8-year-old gelding Eres Tu owned by Luis Pedro Biraben and Miguel Madero, to dominate a jump-off with 4 ranked riders.

After 43 pairs in the regular round on course designed by the Mexican Florencio Hernandez, Luis Pedro Biraben was in charge to mark the first of two double clear round that would end, registering a time of 43.73 seconds.

Although the course did not seem to have more questions, the two final lines were a bit technical for some of the riders, who ended up knocking down at least one pole or were hit by the course time, but Luis Pedro Biraben from Argentina was in charge to putting final figure in what represented his first Grand Prix won in the Kentucky Horse Park.

The second place was for Martien Van Der Hoeven of the United States with the last double clear round in time of 46.13 seconds with the 13-year-old gelding Zerro Leone (Kigali x Iroko) and obtaining the best jump-off time in 41.44 seconds was the American Kaely Tomeu next to 11-year-old mare Gentille (Heartbreaker x Kannan), but they knocked down a pole that ended up placing in third place.

Finished the top five Briton Amanda Derbyshire in fourth place and American Sydney Schulman in fifth place.

By the Latinos led by Luis Pedro Biraben, Hector Florentino of the Dominican Republic also stood out, being very close to classifying the jump-off but he exceeded the time allowed to be penalized with 2 fouls alongside the 10-year-old mare Heliante Ter Wilgen occupying the seventh place.


Resultado Final $50,000 Kentucky Summer Grand Prix

1.- Eres Tu/Luis Biraben (ARG) 0/ 0 / 43.737
2.- Zerro Leone/Martien Van Der Hoeven (USA) 0/ 0 / 46.134
3.- Gentille/Kaely Tomeu (USA) 0 / 4 / 41.447
4.- Luibanta BH/Amanda Derbyshire (GBR) 0 / 4 / 42.663
5.- Wamira/Sydney Shulman (USA) 1 / 77.314
6.- Jingo Didieu D’Arras/Filip De Wandel (BEL) 2 / 79.078
7.- Heliante Ter Wilgen/Hector Florentino (DOM) 2 / 79.832
8.- Baloppi/Shane Sweetnam (IRL) 4 / 73.032
9.- Sibell BH/Amanda Derbyshire (GBR) 4 / 74.559
10.- Ziezo / Scott Lenkart (USA) 4 / 75.354
11.- Caiman De Sequoias/Sharn Wordley (NZL) 4 / 75.718
12.- Boo Van Het Kastanjehof/Andrew Welles (USA) 4 / 75.837