Nicolas Pizarro grew up in Calgary to win the Friends of the Meadows Cup.

Mexican Nicolas Pizarro completed a perfect and effective tiebreaker to beat World No. 1 Kent Farrington. (Photo © Spruce Meadows Media Service)


The Mexican rider Nicolas Pizarro was reunited with the victory, to liquidate in the tiebreaker round to the world number 1 Kent Farrington, during the dispute of the $35,000 Friends of the Meadows Cup.

After winning last February 26 the Grand Prix at Balvanera, Mexico, Nicolas Pizarro today added his second 2017 FEI win and first in Spruce Meadows with the 10-year-old mare La Petite Fleur 6 (Lexicon x Romino), completing his jump-off in 43.36 seconds to be awarded 50 World Ranking Points.

The course designed by Peter Grant of Canada, was attended by 36 teams for the regular round, of which 11 riders would go on the jump-off being led by Nicolas Pizarro and surpassing in very close fight to the world number 1 US Kent Farrington. For Farrington, that the victories have made him a bit elusive in Calgary this season, he had a time of 43.74 seconds with the 10-year-old gelding Dublin (Cobra x Calido), while his fellowman Peter Lutz completed the round in 45.26 seconds accompanied by the 12-year-old gelding Retiro (Rockefeller Z x Play Boy).

The Top 5 was completed by four-time Canadian Olympic medalist Eric Lamaze in fourth place, with a time of 45.79 seconds along with the 12-year-old stallion Coco Bongo (PRH Caretino x Calido) and fifth place was Zazou Hoffman of the United States of America, obtaining a time of 45.94 seconds with the 13-year-old gelding Samson II (Cardento x Bellini).

For the Latino Ranking that counted on victory of Nicolas Pizarro, also included in sixth place his fellowman Federico Fernandez getting the last double clear round of the class in 47.32 seconds with the 12-year-old stallion Pegasso (Cassini I x Contender). Out of the points were the Mexicans Alberto Michan in the 22nd position with 5 fouls, Mario Onate 30th with 10 fouls, Greta Matienzo with 13 fouls at 31st and Jose Alberto Jr Martínez was eliminated.


Final Results