Niels Bruynseels commanded the Belgian one-two of the Coupe de Genève.

Belgian rider Niels Bruynseels commanded the first class of third day at CSI5* CHI de Geneve, occupying first and second place with Jerome Guery for the Belgian dominion. (Photo ©


Belgian rider Niels Bruynseels dominated the Coupe de Genève presented by PMU Romand, where they achieved one-two for Belgium with Jerome Guery.

The first class of third day in the CSI5* CHI de Geneve had as Belgian riders protagonists, where Niels Bruynseels was credited with the victory next to the 11-year-old mare Gancia de Muze (Malito de Reve x Nimmerdor) owned by Erna Vaes, Krystle Wiehem in time of 29.92 seconds, being the only one of the 8 classified riders that lowers the barrier of 30 seconds.

In clear Belgian domination finishing one-two, Niels Bruynseels led the jump-off round with his countryman Jerome Guery, who was presented with the 11-year-old stallion Garfield de Tiji des Templiers (Quasimodo Z x Goldspring de Lauzelle) and marked on blackboard a time of 30.12 seconds, while third place was taken by Swedish rider Henrik von Eckermann with the 10-year-old stallion Chacanno (Chacco-Blue x Kannan) in 31.40 seconds.

The top five of the class were completed by Paul Estermann of Switzerland in fourth place with the 9-year-old stallion Curtis Sitte (Ugano Sitte x Chellano Z), ending in 31.41 seconds his tiebreaker and fifth place Alexis Deraubaix of France, completed a slower round in 34.02 seconds with the 10-year-old gelding Timon d’Aure (Mylord Carthago x Drakkar Des Hutins).

Resulting in a complicated course designed by Swiss Gérard Lachat, the best of Pan American Ranking riders was the four-time Canadian Olympic medalist Eric Lamaze with the 11-year-old gelding Chacco Kid (Chacco-Blue x Come On), finishing 25th out of points.

For its part, the Latin Ranking leader Pedro Veniss of Brazil could not decipher what was posed by Gérard Lachar, opting to retire with the 10-year-old mare For Felicila (For Pleasure x Espri), same luck as the Americans Lauren Hough and Kent Farrington.


Final Results