Rowan Willis flies at €33,000 Caja Rural de Gijón.

Rowan Willis of Australia marked the fastest time in the speed class for beat the British duo of Laura Renwick and Louise Saywell. (Photo © Maria Roca)


Australian rider Rowan Willis flew at CSIO5* Gijon and took the win in the dispute of €33,000 Caja Rural de Gijón against 53 pairs.

The speed class designed by Spanish Avelino Rodriguez Miravalles was very well deciphered by Rowan Willis, who ended up holding the clock in 65.83 seconds with the 11-year-old mare Blue Movie (Chacco-Blue x Pilot) and secured 50 World Ranking Points.

For second place Laura Renwick of Great Britain finished in 67.83 seconds with the 9-year-old gelding Dominant H (Heartbreaker x Indorado) and third place Louise Saywell also of Great Britain, recorded a time of 69.77 seconds with the 15-year-old gelding Tin Tin (San Patrignano Mister x Animo).

The best representative of Pan American Ranking was the Canadian Kara Chad in fourth place, being accompanied by the 10-year-old mare Carona (Untouchable x Silverstone) in 69.91 seconds and completing the Top 5 Irish rider Shane Breen with the last time by under the 70-second barrier in 69.98 seconds with the 11-year-old stallion Hallowberry Cross (Cruising x Clover Hill).

For the Latino ranking Mexican rider Federico Fernández was in eighth place, getting FEI Ranking Points with the 9-year-old stallion Pegasso (Cassini I x Contender) in 71.30 seconds. Also his fellowman Ernesto Canseco finished within the points in 15th place with the 9-year-old gelding Davall (Zavall VDL x Indorado) in time of 77.58 seconds.

Out of the points were by Latinos Dayro Arroyave of Colombia in 23rd place with 4 fouls next to 9-year-old gelding Uppercut Libellule (Jarnac SF x Papillon Rouge), José Alfredo Hernández accumulated 8 fouls in box 42nd with the 11-year-old mare Grupo Prom Carla Columna (Candillo) and Venezuelan rider Patricia Alvarado with the 11-year-old mare Souchka du Lys (Calvaro x Quick Star) totaled 13 fouls in 46th place. Meanwhile the Mexicans Enrique González and Patricio Pasquel were retiring.


Final Results