Samuel Parot closes big with the last Grand Prix of the Winter Equestrian Festival.

Chilean Samuel Parot completed a great performance in the 2017 WEF season, clinching his sixth win in the 12th Grand Prix. Daniel Coyle and Margie Engle escorted him. (Photo © Sportfot)


Closing what has undoubtedly been his best performance at the Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington, Samuel Parot added his sixth win by winning the $216,000 Wanderers Club CSI 4*, last season’s Grand Prix.

The course designed by Germany’s Olaf Petersen Jr. showed a complicated and demanding course for the 45 pairs, where only 5 would return for the tiebreaking round, being the Chilean and leader of the Latino Ranking who would get the fastest time in 42.52 seconds with 14-year-old gelding Atlantis (Andiamo Z x Royal Bravour L), being credited 130 World Ranking points plus $71,280. The second position was for the Irishman Daniel Coyle, one of the big surprises in this 2017, recording a time of 43.85 seconds and last double clear of the night with 11-year-old mare Cita (Casall x Pik Ramiro).

The Top five and all of them in the tiebreaker were third place by Margie Engle of the United States totaling four fouls in 43.31 seconds with 13-year-old stallion Royce (Café au Lait x Grandilot), followed by another american rider Lillie Keenan alongside 11-year-old gelding Super Sox (Salito x Silvio I) scoring 4 fouls with 43.46 seconds and for the fifth place big star Bezzie Madden, with the same accumulated of 4 fouls with 11-year-old stallion Breitling LS (Quintero x Accord II) in time of 44.40 seconds.

For the Latin Ranking headed by its leader Samuel Parot as the brand new winner, it was followed by Pablo Barrios of Venezuela and 14-year-old mare A S D Farfala (Hyo Dario x Furious II), knocking down a pole in the regular round to occupy the ninth place. Also managed to add points to the FEI ranking points the Brazilian Jose Roberto Reynoso in 13th place with the same 4 fouls along with the mare Azrael W (Chin Chin x Voltaire). Out of the points were Brazilian Luiz Francisco de Azevedo in the 26th place, Santiago Lambre of Mexico in 28th place, Gustavo Prato of Argentina was in box 29th, Paulo Steward of Brazil in 35th position and his fellowmen Guilherme Dutra as well as Emanuel Andrade of Venezuela retired.


Final Results