Samuel Parot wins the $86,000 Tryon Resort Grand Prix CSI 2*.

Samuel Parot of Chile and leader of Latino Ranking won the first Grand Prix of 2017 season in Tryon. Ignacio Maurin of Argentina was in third place. (Photo © Sportfot)


Chilean rider Samuel Parot leader of Latino Ranking, won the first Grand Prix of 2017 season in Tryon, NC after commanding a group of 34 pairs, dominating the $86,000 Tryon Resot Grand Prix CSI 2*.

In a course designed by British Richard Jeffery which was very technical and complicated with a short time, only 2 competitors would get their pass to the tiebreaker round, where Samuel Parot along with 14-year-old gelding Atlantis (Andiamo x Royal Bravour L) would complete his tour in 47.85 seconds securing a prize of $28,380 plus 80 World Ranking points, being the seventh FEI victory of 2017 in a very strong demonstration of speed. The other classified was American Olympic medalist Leslie Howard with 11-year-old gelding Gentille van Spkeveld (Heartbreaker x Capital) getting the second double clear round of the night, but recording a slower time of 50.04 seconds and taking 70 Ranking World points.

The representatives of Latino Ranking continued shining on first Saturday Night Light at Tryon International Equestrian Center, where Argentinean Ignacio Maurin completed a clear regular round with 13-year-old Thriller P (Cardento x Lucky Light), but exceeded the time allowed, being penalized with 1 foul and adding 60 FEI Ranking points in third place. For his part, Mexican Santiago Lambre completed his field in 4 fouls and fasted time of 80.72 seconds to occupy the sixth place with 9-year-old gelding Dingeman (Nintender x Darnels). Out of points were Freddy Vázquez of Puerto Rico in 17th position totaling 5 fouls with Bachelor 4 (Baloubet du Rouet x Grosso Z), Angel Karolyi of Venezuela with 8 fouls followed in box 20th, his fellowmen Luis Larrazabal with same 8 fouls in 22nd, Jorge Andrés Barrera of Colombia escorted him in 23rd place, while Daniela Strasnky of Venezuela and Lisbeth Hazoury of Dominican Republic were eliminated.


Final Results